Posted by
Tony Rubino
The other day my buddy Andrew invited me to go to an FC Seoul playoff game with him and his co teachers husband. It was a pretty cold day so to be honest with you I was not that excited about the idea of going. But I figured when else would I get the chance to do that so I sucked it up, put on my Canadian face and we headed down to World Cup Stadium in the heart of Seoul. It was tons of fun.
FC Seoul lost by the way…in a shootout after a 30 minute overtime…long cold night!!
Here are the pictures and some video.

You may want to turn the volume down on your computer before you run these vids.
God it’s cold!!!! Be over!!!!
Wednesday, November 25, 2009
Posted by
Tony Rubino
This is us at the end of a long day kickin it at the Frog and Toad in Ilsan. Who knew a frog an toad could get along so well? Not me…but they do.
Ok enough about your new camera!!! I’m drunk!?!…I’M DRUNK!?!
I’ve invented the cigarette pipe!!! This dude is so…I DON’T KNOW!!!


Posted by
Tony Rubino
This is a cool day trip I went on a few weeks back and am only now getting around to blogging about. As the title hints I spent the day…or part of it…at the National Museum of Korea. It’s the largest museum in Korea…I think. I rounded up my hommies (Johan, Andrew, Ryan and Noelle) and we headed down to the museum to see what kind of damage we could cause. Don’t worry mom that was a joke. No really I was just kidding. No we didn’t break anything…yes I know that' would be against the law…yes I’m sure we didn’t break anything…we didn’t I swear. In all seriousness mom we didn’t break anything, I promise.
Here are some museumie things.

After the museum we got some Kimbap at a small restaurant at the museum. Here we see Johan picking the sesame leaf from him Kimbap because…well he’s a big baby who doesn’t like sesame leaf in his Kimbap. Oh and just so you know, he was able to accomplish this amazing feat due to his manly chopstick grip…no joke.
You da man…mate.

After that it was off to Yangsan electronics market…again.
SERIOUS SILLY

Here is Ryan with his new Vans. It seems Korean have narrow feet so beware when buying new shoes. Ryan’s were so bad we had to stop and get new ones. Next to that picture is Johan and Noelle defiling some poor innocent stress ball/pig.
Next post……Frog and Toad……stay tuned.
Posted by
Tony Rubino
Wow!! Already on my fourth instalment of funny signs!! I feel like someone important…or someone that is just sad and lonely. Not sure which yet. Ask me after Funny Signs 10 hits the blog.
So here is the new batch of Korean English weirdness…or Kenglish if you will. This first picture is of a cocktail bar found in Ilsan which is near where I live. I swear I have sat on this particular patio about a dozen times looking across the way at this sign and it never occurred to me to read what it actually said. It’s just weird…but it makes sense…doesn’t it?
CAUTION!! I love this sign. It seems that it’s only purpose for being is in the event that the railing disappears. Now if that happens whoever decided to make and place this sign could be a genuine lifesaving hero.
Before I talk about the next sign I just want to be clear…Wanna = Want To…right? I thought so. This subway sign is clearly meant as a recruitment poster for the Korean subway vampire hunters…and yes I do Wanna Steak…stupid vampires. I am also aware that it’s the wrong steak (stake).
Lastly, who doesn’t love a good mauling…GRRRRR!!!
Check you later.
Posted by
Tony Rubino
This past Sunday Ryan K., Andrew A. and myself decided that we were going to once and for all do some hiking. Our friend Johan was supposed to come as well but we think he was out past his bedtime the night before because he had his phone off when we called at 11:00 am the next morning. Oh and then he complained that he got the text at 2:00 pm and that we didn’t call him. Well he’s usually pretty dependable…especially when it comes to things like class trips and such. Just ask the principle at his school. I’m not sure if he will think that’s funny…but I do. Anyway enough with the inside jokes. Hiking…yes well we decided that we would go to a place called Bukhansan National Park which has amazing hiking. We spent about 3 or so hours hiking and it was a blast. Here are the highlights.
As you can see there was a very good mix of hiking an a bit of light rock climbing.

The views were spectacular and these pictures just don’t do it justice. That is not me by the way crab walking around on that cliff edge. It was some crazy guy.

So what do you do after a 2 hour hike up a steep mountain? Well I don’t know about you but I for one take full advantage of the peak top outdoor gym!! Why not?



Here is some video that I shot at the top of the peak that we climbed.


So we can see here that Ryan is well equipped for climbing with his limited edition all terrain hiking Vans. Particularly effective when the rocks are wet. Interestingly enough Ryan informed me today that a few foreigners fall off the mountain every year due to the lack of proper footwear and or equipment. fortunately Ryan was able to refrain from hiking, texting and smoking at the same time.
These are all views from the peak. If I remember correctly we were at an altitude of approximately 800m. There are 20 different peaks you can climb and a labyrinth of well maintained trails to explore.
Hope you enjoyed these. I may be back there very soon it’s a great place to get some exercise and fresh air.